The Temple

Today, I went to church. I sacrificed at the altar. Except, the church had no pews or pulpits. The altar was made of very ancient stone. And the sacrifice was paid in sweat. Today, I went to the mountains.

Thousands of tired, nerve shaken, over-civilized people are beginning to find out that going to the mountains is going home; that wilderness is a necessity…

John Muir

I’ve been in a lot of major cities recently. Beautiful and exciting. But, they are still cities. New Orleans, London, Paris, Vienna, Geneva.

Today, I went home. It was a brief respite, but it helped settle the soul. Taking a walk in the woods, uphill, in the mountains is a simple pleasure. Sweating. Breathing hard. Breathing clean crisp air. It’s good for me. It allows me to be present.

I can’t wait to come back. The Jungfrau stared me down all day. It is taunting me, as I find most mountains do. The Eiger even peaked out, only for a second, to stare me down. The Monch couldn’t be bothered, apparently. The Maiden, The Ogre, and The Monk are legends; they’ll have to wait. Today was just a walk.

Leave a Reply

